top of page
  • Writer's picturepcostudentmedia

Honoring the Veterans

Updated: Jan 7, 2020

Every year Putnam City Pirates put together an honorable assembly for the whole school. JROTC and band helps with the assembly by playing music, slide shows, and acknowledging all veterans.

Many students show appreciation in different ways whether it is being a part of JROTC or being in the band performing. They perform all of the military branch songs and salute each of the military veterans.

“I feel like when we perform at the Veteran Day assembly it’s important because we are performing their songs and showing how much we appreciate them and for what they have done for our country,” senior Drexel Meek said.

Some students did not help with putting the celebration together but they acknowledge the experts in the military. Some Pirates have family members that have served or are serving in the military to this day.

“I didn’t really put it together. I got to help set it

up but it’s important to me because my family is a military family and we understand the struggle. You don’t always get to see your loved ones because they are gone, which is why I enlisted and will be serving in the army,” sophomore Christian Gabriel said.

Teachers are also thankful for the Army, Air Force, Navy and the Marines for fighting for everyone’s freedom and protection. The military put everything on the line for America and doing the extreme for the United States.

“Veterans have given me the lifestyle that I live and I appreciate their willingness to make these sacrifices when they went or go into a war zone fighting for our country,” FACS teacher Ms. Grotheer said.

Some veterans are delighted that people are grateful for all military branches but feel like the attention should also be on the veterans families as well. Being involved more than just families and the different branches but actually get to know the military.

“I love that they have the assembly but I wish that they were more involved with the families,'' senior Principal Ms.Taylor said.


Story by Jayla Davis




32 views
bottom of page